livinsweet

May is for Cream Cheese Lovers.

In cake, Food on May 31, 2010 at 12:04 am

Ashlyn is one of my closest and oldest friends. She was my first friend and roommate when I moved here to Utah, as well as maid of honor at my wedding. She is also one of the pickiest eaters I know! I eat pretty much anything (food), so I am happy to adjust our menus for her, especially for her birthday. When I asked what she would like for her cake, she said she likes anything with cream cheese. Since it’s spring, I wanted to make something that would be cool and refreshing, so I incorporated lemon and some fresh strawberries….

I started with a layer of lemon cake, saturated with my special strawberry lemonade glaze. I then covered the layer of cake with a generous portion of my lemon cream cheese filling.

I covered the cream cream cheese in a layer of fresh strawberries, then started all over again. I topped the entire cake with some old fashioned, home whipped cream – garnished with more strawberries and a little glaze. I wanted it to be just a LITTLE over the top!

Happy Birthday, Ashlyn!

  1. Yum Yum Yum! My mouth is watering! That looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

