livinsweet

The Big 12…

In cake, Food, Kids, Uncategorized on May 23, 2010 at 12:15 am

This is a photo of me and the best man at my wedding a little over 4 years ago. We tried to keep things pretty simple for the occasion, so my husband thought of just one person to be his groomsmen/best man and decided that Jake would do an excellent job. He REALLY did. Speech and all.

He has always been one of the sweetest little people I have ever met. I am so happy to be related to him. This next photo was taken at our reception. Later that afternoon, we got a call from his parents about a conversation they’d had with him in the car.  He’d described the day as one of the best he’d ever had. In response, his mom asked if it was because his uncle got married? He said “no”. She then inquired if it was because he got to be the best man and give a speech? He again, said “no”. “It’s because I got to kiss a girl…”

I have this photo in a lovely frame collage in my house. It was one of the best days (and moments) of my life, too, Jake.

Last week, our best little man turned 12. TWELVE! I can’t believe the time has gone by so so so fast…and if I feel this way, I can only imagine how is mom feels. I got a little glimpse during the sweet slideshow she put together of his life. I must admit, it brought me to tears a little bit. I’m happy to have known this little guy for as long as I have.  He’s a great example to my own son – of many great things.

My husband has had the pleasure of helping Jake’s dad coach Jake’s football team a few years and, as unbiased as I can say it, Jake is a STAR athlete. I am continually impressed (but never surprised) at his amazing abilities.

Jake and his little sister would ask me every week when I was pregnant, how my growing little baby was doing, giving my ever growing belly lots of hugs and love. It melts my heart a little every time they get to play together to see how thoughtful and sweet Jake always is. He keeps Beck out of trouble in the kindest ways (so as not to make the baby cry) and finds ways to keep him entertained and happy. He is so thoughtful and always in for a good time.

So, for his birthday, I made him a little cake that had a lot of fun in it. I knew that if anyone, he would appreciate the surprise underneath his favorite colored frosting…

AND NOW, for the surprise!

(I got the idea a while ago for this rainbow cake from Studio 5, but I couldn’t find the original post. It’s still pretty fun!)

I also made some cheesecake bars, but those will be posted later…this post is mostly for Jigglins’.

Here is a very Happy Birthday wish to you, big guy. I can’t believe you have grown up so fast. I am happy to have such a great nephew and like a said before, a great example for little Beck. Beck’s lucky to have a great cousin and such a sweet family.

I can’t believe how much has changed in just over 4 years!

  1. That cake is amazing! I love that idea! How did I miss that episode of Studio 5?
    Happy Birthday to your best man!
    P.S. You looked super hot at your wedding! (And still do, of course.)

  2. This is a great post! The cake was amazing. And you and Casey and Beck are too.

Leave a Reply

