livinsweet

Dear Daisy,

In Baby, Blanket, Clothing, Crochet, Crochet Flowers, Girls on March 7, 2010 at 5:24 am

I have been waiting about 3 weeks to write this post! Can you believe I made my first baby blanket and actually forgot to take pictures?????

There are approximately 1,200 miles from where I live now to my hometown…and guess where all of my sisters live? That’s right…so very close to my original home. What does this mean? It means that I don’t get to make little girly things for my nieces and the ones I have by marriage are all too old for the sparkly, frilly bows and dress ups….that is until now! We are incredibly pleased to welcome a new niece into our family. She was born here, so we have been able to enjoy her for the past 2 weeks and for 1 more very short week before she goes to her perfectly (and gorgeously prepared) new room in the city that I love, New York. She is one of the most beautiful baby girls I have ever seen – and she is named after my very favorite flower….Daisy.

I took advantage of having a baby girl close-by for a few weeks by making her some lovely “welcome to the family” gifts. I started by crocheting her a blanket.

Let me remind you, dear readers, that I have never made such a thing in my life. I actually made it 3 times, unraveling it and re-making it when the stitches didn’t turn out just right. In the end, however, I was quite pleased with the result.

My grandmother used to crochet so very long ago and taught me how to chain a single stitch when I was probably about 7-8 years old. She had a very wide living room and I remember working very hard to make the longest yellow yarn chain ever – one that would easily be strung from one end of the room to the other. I never learned how to turn it around and go the other way….

Luckily, I figured it out. This is what I came up with….

It's made with organic cotton yarn and satin ribbons

As you can see, I also figured out how to crochet flowers. I found these great buttons and it was all I could do to let them go. I only wish I could come up with something to make to keep them for myself!


Doesn’t this pink complement her beautifully? She opened her eyes just enough to check us out during her little visit to our house. We’ll be very sad to see her go home – we love her so!

Leave a Reply

